Where does the phoenix sleep?

 

 

 

The past few years photography has been my sole weapon of mass construction, but I’ve been really missing the joy of performance arts. I think the main reason I’m using body as the medium as opposed photography is the cost of putting a work of this significance and scale.

A work to have impact in photography visual, the subject and the scale of the work is what speaks.

In this work I explore this meaning.

When I make an exhibition my aim is always to lease as much energy possible so that the observe experiences the full intensity of meditation and creation of wow. I ‘m addicted to the wow factor you could say.

This work is part of exploring my own talents through dealing with life.

The concept is dealing with change in attitude and environment.

The performance takes place in a small public art gallery right in the middle of a pedestrian traffic.

The gallery is 20 meters by 5 meters.

The one side is totally covered in glass and the rest of the building is wooden.

The performance opens on the first day of three days with me standing nearly stark naked in front of the audience, beside my feet is a huge bowl of molten clay in water , which I proceed to use to cover my body with it.

I start at my feet and embalming myself

Embalming myself until my body even eyes are totally covered.

In the covering I make myself a clay sculpture and seal myself from the world.

I enter into the void of my mind and remain like this for two nights without moving while the clay proceeds to dry.

The clay dries , and cracks by encouragement and by conditions of the warm space.

I move around , hatching.

I move around a clay mask piece falls from my face.

limbs and the change proceeds until I’m unearthed again.

The phoenix wakes and rises from ashes and starts to fly towards the sky again on the third day of no water and food and  being motionless.

 

1 comment
  1. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice practices and we are looking to exchange methods with other folks, please shoot me an email if interested.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

